4 Soviet States that are still around

In spite of the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991, four Soviet states still exist today. Although none of the four states have obtained international recognition and have all been disavowed by Moscow, they are all de facto independent states.

Transnistria, a.k.a. Trans-Dniester or Pridnestrovie, exists within the international recognized borders of Moldova. Transnistria currently exists in a state of civil war with the rest of Moldova and is bordered by the Dniester River on the west and the Ukraine on the east.

Nagorno-Karabakh exists in the South Caucasus region of Azerbaijan. Unlike Transnistria, Nagorno-Karabakh has been participating in peace talks with both Azerbaijan and Armenia, never having escalated into open warfare.

The final two Soviet states, Abkhazia and South Ossetia exist within the borders of Georgia. There has been open warfare between Georgia and both South Ossetia and Abkhazia.